New guy doing a XS650 project. HELP!!

suthpaw22

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I got my XS650 a couple weeks ago off craigslist. It isn't far from being an amazing bike! The problem is I am very new to working on bikes. I've had my motorcycle license and been riding them for about 9 years, but this is my first time actually doing something other than regular maintenance.

080.jpg

As you can see, it was already a project bike and in good shape. The guy I bought it from got it as something to tinker with while he was recovering from back surgery. He did a lot of good things to it, but never finished it and never put it on the road because he already has a nice bike.

As far as what I can see it needs and I want to do with it. First off it needs carbs. He took them off before he sold it because he had the ones on it professionally re-done. I talked to a few guys on here the other day when I first registered on this site who were very helpful. I found a set of carbs on eBay that were taken off a 78 XS650 like mine and am waiting on them to be shipped to me now. They are suppose to be in good useable condition.

Next, I know it needs right and left petcocks. I'm iffy on whether I need the vacuum or non vacuum type. I found a set at mikesxs.com that said this

"All 1978-84 North American market 650's have original petcocks operated by
Vacuum from a line to the intake (on carb holder). 1978-79 models have 2 and
1980-84 models have 1 petcock. Vacuum petcocks are chronic leakers and are
all getting to the point of being non-repairable. Our petcock is the Early type 650
manual petcock with a wider flange cast on it so it will fit in place of the vacuum
types. Our Petcock fits to right or left and each comes with the tap to tank
O-Ring seal and assorted outlet fittings ( petcock has 2 outlet ports).
Fittings included: 2 ninety degree, 1 Straight fitting & 1 outlet port Plug.
There is an "ON", "OFF" and "Reserve" position."