oil on dipstick but not in window help?

jonboy-xsbobber

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I'm new to motorcycles and just got my first xs650
There is oil on the dip stick but nothing in the window
Even when I tip the bike nothing comes into the window
Should I just go with the dipstick?

I would change the oil and clean the filters. Then add the right amount. Then you will know for shore you have the right amount in it.

Oil quantity:
2.0 lit (2.1 qt): periodic oil change
2.5 lit (2.6 qt): engine overhauling
Recommended oil:
Yamalube 4-cycle oil or SAE
20W/40 type "SE"motor oil
I use valvoline motorcycle oil

I use Mobil 1 V twin 20w 50. Any motorcycle oil designed for wet clutches. I used valvolene 20w 50 non synthetic oil for breaking in a new rebuilt motor. Don't use automive oil. I like the synthetic, regular motorcyle works just fine. It takes a little over 2 quarts. With the bike on the center stand I use the dipstick to top it off. 2500CC is what the book says.

Thanks... Any reason why every now and then when I go to kick it over there is no resistance and doesn't turn the engine over? I'm hoping this guy didn't fuck me and sell me a shit engine (planed on completely rebuilding it anyway but still)

I never use the kickstart. So back in the day when I did not a Yamaha. You had to crank the lever untill it would engage and turn the motor. Sound like it doesn't engage sometimes.

Without Feeling/Kicking/hearing it myself its hard to tell why its kicking like that. Sounds odd to me. possible the lever is slipping on the actual knob, but highly doubtful! Video it is the only way really.

Just double checking, but are you possibly pulling in the clutch when you are kick starting. The bike has to be in neutral and the clutch out because it kickstarts through the clutch.

Also if the clutch is out of adjustment this might also make a difference.

I'm new to motorcycles and just got my first xs650
There is oil on the dip stick but nothing in the window