Shifting problem 1975 yamaha XS650B 28,462 miles

jsbernaix

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I have a 1975 Yamaha SX650B motorcycle that will not shift when the engine is warm. I used to ride this bike as a kid (it was my dad's), it was stored in my fathers barn from 1985-2007 unriden. It worked fine when put in the bard 20 years ago. I have been restoring it, slowly. The shifting problem began immediately after we got it running last year and back on the road kind of if a 5 mile trip means it is on the road. I am new to this and it is a project for me and my oldest son when he is home in the summer from college.

I switched the engine to motor cycle synthetic oil; it had conventional oil when we began the project. I switched to synthetic oil when I experienced the problem. I was trying to increase slickness in the oil reservoir (shared for engine and transmission) thinking it may solve the problem.

It shifts great and runs wonderfully until I cover about 5-6 miles then the motor cycle will not shift any longer. The shifter will not allow up shifting or down shifting until the engine cools again, then it is fine for another 5-6 miles. I have gently removed the glaze from the clutch plates they had just a little rust from being stored so long unridden I guess.

I am putting a new thrust washer and needle bearing in this weekend to see if that helps. Ideas? My next area to address will be the shifter shaft assembly am I thinking correctly?

All of my shifting problems have been clutch related. I'd say you're on the right track.

Yes do the proper clutch adjustment.
Slack cable at handlebar lever - fully
Snug actuator crew and back off 1/4 turn lock down
Reajust cable with 1/4" free play

- if that fails check the shift shaft for straightness...as the cases heat up the alu expands faster than the steel shaft, if the shaft is bent it can bind-especially in the left side cover hole