Tips on upholstering a cafe seat?

cooltouch

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
A while back I bought a cafe seat from an ebay seller for my XS650 cafe project. Well made, came with a big piece of durable vinyl and chrome snaps to secure it to the seat.

Problem is, I've never upholstered a seat before. I've located a source for the foam pad(s) and I know how to trim the foam. But I've never done any sewing before, and I'm thinking that, to do this right, a fair amount of sewing will need to be done so that it will have an authentic cafe look.

I suppose what I probably should do is just take it to an auto/motorcycle upholsterer after getting the foam shaped the way I want it, and have them do the rest. But being a DIY kinda guy, I wouldn't mind trying it myself.

So if you'd be willing to weigh in here, I'd be willing to pay attention. :bike:

If you want to give it a go yourself, go buy some cheap material and plenty of it, make your seat cover the way you want it and then try it out on the seat. You can either make a pattern out of paper for each piece as you go or pick out the stitching on your practice cover and use those pieces as your final pattern.

Good ideas, Teebs . . . and teach myself how to use my wife's sewing machine in the process. Heh. She'll probably take over and do the sewing for me. :D ;)

Hell, I forget we even have a sewing machine. It's been years since she's dragged that thing out. Doesn't matter though. Knowing her, if I try to do it, she'll pester me until I give in so she can take over.

Well, you have it made then. I'd go for it. Using cheap material and doing a test run, what are you really out if it doesn't work out? If you use something with the same general weight and flexibility as your final material you shouldn't have any problems.