Can't get oil sump filter/plate off

mike1968

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello I'm new to motorcycles and am changing the oil in my 1982 xs650 heritage special. I have changed filter and am getting a new sump filter from Mikesxs today. I drained the oil and it looked clean, but thought since I don't know if the PO had done regular maintenance that I would also change the sump filter also. I have undone the 6 bolts and with a little tapping the plate came loose. However, the kickstand mount is still in the way. I took the kickstand off, but the bracket is still limiting me dropping the plate. Any suggestions? I hate to force, considering I will have to put it back in.

You'll just have to wrestle it out of there as best you can. You may damage the side of the current filter a bit but they can be repaired with JB Weld. Chances are, it already needs that. It's common for them to tear. There's a bit of play in the filter mounting bolts. Push the filter all the way towards one side or the other before tightening the mounting bolts. I'm not sure which way works best but one will allow the filter assembly to drop out easier. I guess it's also possible your side stand mount is bent.

On a stubborn one I have put the drain plug back in place and carefully locked onto it with some vise grips to get a little leverage while I work on the sump body with a rubber mallet. I try to avoid putting anything between the smooth surfaces at all.
jefft

Thank you for your quick reply. I am hopeful UPS will be here shortly. I am anxious to get back on the road. This has been a fun experience learning how to work on the bike. I am thankful for the site, with all the helpful ideas and expertise.