custom sidecar for 650 cafe

jaksnomad

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
So I'm new to the whole forum discussion thing not to mention this site. Here's a little background: bought a 74 XS650 street tracker/hackjob that handled like absolute crap due to the previous owners love of the sawzall. I love to work with and weld aluminum, so after a lot of hours I managed to drastically fix the handling issues and shave a considerable amount of weight and turned it into a pretty sweet café style bike. Some of the custom mods (pretty much all the aluminum is hand built): seat pan, battery box that mounts flat under seat, rear inner fender, headlight mount, steering dampner, modern master cylinder w/ remote reservoir, SS braided brake line, aluminum puke tank w/ AN fittings, rear sets, and last but absolutely not least a set of bitchn custom triple trees made by my pops on his EZ Trak Bridgeport. There's other stuff done also but I can see this is already turning into a moby dick novel. Anyways I haven't been able to ride it in a little over three years due to my other love of motocross racing (I suffered a complete SCI at my T5 vertebrae leaving me paralyzed from the chest down) fortunately I still have the use of my fingers, hands, and arms (getting some of my abs back as well). I had an RD350 in my shop that my friend had asked me to build for his wife, well it was put on the back burner as it was racing season. So this project ended up being probably the best mental and physical therapy for someone who loves to turn wrenches and weld shit. It took me a lot longer than it probably should have but I finally finished it about a month ago. So here I am after much sitting in my shop looking at my XS on its lift and I've come up with the obvious solution to get my knees back in the breeze; build a sidecar, correction build a 60's era salt flat racer style side car. I think it'll go with the aluminum look/style that the bike has nicely. This brings me to an issue that really nee