Help General top end questions and vm34 settings...

Brew

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I've had my bike running for a few years but it has always had trouble doing more than 60mph. I just tore into the top end because I was ruining plugs on the left side really bad so I thought my rings were shot. that side was oily and the rings might be bad but the cylinder walls seem fine. There was quite a bit of oil in the head. I've never done a top end before so I don't really know what i'm looking at. Also I'm thinking my carbs have been set up the wrong way the entire time and thats was causing my 60mph top speed.? I'm going to have my carbs sonic cleaned and all new internals and want to know what settings you have for your vm34's. Also some ideas on my top speed issue. '79 with 2into1 mac exhaust no baffles and a pamco are the only mods. Also When I was doing my top speed it sounded like it started missing and not sure what that is a symptom of. maybe my advance is messed up? A little help would be nice. Trying to get it dialed in for bike week in a couple months.

Main Jet:
Pilot Jet:
Needle:
Needle Position:
Mix screw: In turns out.

Last edited:
here are a few pics...

Attachments

• pistons.jpg
    pistons.jpg
    212.2 KB · Views: 239
  • valves.jpg
    valves.jpg
    236 KB · Views: 183
  • my bike.jpg
    my bike.jpg
    301.8 KB · Views: 207
On your left piston, pic #1, there's some scratches. Also, hard to see, but is part of the upper thin oil control ring missing/broken?

Check for scratches in the cylinder.

May be looking at pistons and bore job.

to the touch the cylinders are smooth and I think what you are seeing is the ring gap...

Had to zoom in. Maybe it's the lighting. Part of the upper oil control ring looked missing...

Attachments

• pistons.jpg
    pistons.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 208
Last edited: