Ignition circuit diagnosis.

The Phantom

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey, I’ve got my 78 togeather. I even fixed the inop starter gear while I had the primary cover off.
I have no ignition switch locking mechanism, and the kill switch was damaged in the accident. Crossing over plugs, I’ve cranked it over and only get a spark on the right side points. I’m fairly well versed in wiring schematics/ diagnostics but I can’t figure out why the left side has no spark. I’m not sure, but I don’t think the left coil is getting power. I’m no bike mechanic so rectifiers and regulators are Greek to me. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Crossing over plugs
Not sure what you mean by this?
most points ignition troubleshooting can easily be done with a small light bulb and test leads.
A couple simple ignition only diagrams. Don't forget/ignore condensers.
points iggy.png
points ign wiring diagram.JPG

When I went to the dealer many years ago he always said Point -Point --Point and then check the Point
Can of course be other things .But service there was the advice and I cannot say the Dealer have been wrong yet

When I went to the dealer many years ago he always said Point -Point --Point and then check the Point
Can of course be other things .But service there was the advice and I cannot say the Dealer have been wrong yet
What? I need a little more explanation. Don’t know what you mean here

With the switch on and the points open there should be battery voltage at the points arm. No voltage?, power to the coil is interrupted, or the points wire and/or the condenser is shorted to ground.
I believe the condenser is mounted to the upper engine mount. Is that right? There is a ground wire off the condenser, is that grounded to the frame or the rocker cover of the engine?

What? I need a little more explanation. Don’t know what you mean here