lots of issues

XS6fiddy

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
I am new to xs 650's so be kind,
I have an 83 US Custom that does run but bogs down anything over 60, its fine up untill then. The bike has a new set of Mikuni's on and is being run through a set of hand made pipes with a set of cheap baffled short mufflers.
The petrol tank has the two vacume taps still intact with just the right hand side split with a Y peice which feeds both carbs. I was told to run it on prime to allow enough fuel through, but am wondering if this is the issue with the running and blacked out plugs. Also due to there not being an off location on the tap I am unable to turn the fuel off, which has been dripping a bit when it is stood.
The needles have been set to 3 slots from the top, but to be fair I hold my hands up, I don't know what I am doing but would like to learn how to set it up so that it runs better.
The bike is also very thirsty, I did 75 miles the other saturday and it drank a full tank of petrol. Surely that's not right.
I live in Colchester,UK is there any one close ish to me who may be able to show me how to set it up properly to run well.
I am not a mechanic, but I am willing to learn.
Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks in advance Chris..

Running that rich I suspect you have float valve problems. Be very careful, while sitting, fuel can leak from carbs into cylinder and down to crankcase diluting engine oil. disaster lurks................

I am new to xs 650's so be kind,
I have an 83 US Custom that does run but bogs down anything over 60, its fine up untill then. The bike has a new set of Mikuni's on and is being run through a set of hand made pipes with a set of cheap baffled short mufflers.