Mike's Master Cylinder - Is there a little seal to remove?

davem222

davem222
Reaction score
Hey all,
I got a Mike's low profile master cylinder, and I am a novice, so if this is silly, please let me know, but I installed it, hooked it up to the brake line and brake caliper (which I rebuilt), put in brake fluid (there was none in there) and nothin. I did notice that there's a little plastic cap on the bottom here (it's the little yellow guy). Is that thing supposed to be removed? It seems so but I don't want to fuck up a part that I need. Please let me know as I am totally lost here. Thanks!

Dave

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    31.7 KB · Views: 139
Hmm, just going through the "bleeding the brakes" section on the Tech section. Do I need to "bleed" the brakes with a pump even if it's the first time I'm putting fluid in?

Does it have any holes in it? if it does then it should stay if no holes it needs to come out. I'm guessing it has holes and is there to prevent fluid from spurting out of the ports.

Yes you have to bleed ESPECIALLY the first time. LOL
Doesn't HAVE to be with a pump but it is easier that way.

Gotcha. Thanks Gary, lol, can you tell this is my first build? Ha ha ha. I think I'll try it without the pump, ie the by hand ""lever, nipple, pump-pump, nipple, lever", repeat" way that Littlebill goes over in the Tech section.

I know I'm silly for even asking but hey, better safe than sorry, right? Enjoy the eve :)

Dave

I have the same problem with one. Won't bleed yet i put stock one on and good. May have been a bad run. Mine sat new in the box for the last 9 months so i got to eat it and i ordered another from someone else. Tried everything but just doesn't pump enough.Owell my fault for not checking when i got it. Bought others from them and no problem.

i have the same one. u dont need a pump. n