Project "McQueen1"

I think I found them, or at least something very similar .....

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2647989330...lp:2332490&itmmeta=01HWPJYPJB524WK04H2G77BE8R

I have been using truck shock boots or "gaiters" for many, many years. They work great and basically never wear out. I also like the fact that you can customize the length to anything you need. On a "bare" fork, I cut them down to 8 bellows .....

83Gaiters.jpg

But once I add a fork brace, that makes them sit higher and I have to shorten them by one bellow, down to 7 .....

ATKForkBrace83-4.jpg

Although they fit well enough that no clamps are needed, I do add them at the bottom, mainly for looks .....

78GaitersBrace.jpg

Looking nice. Truck shock boots, that is pretty smart. Haven't thought of that one.
I simply searched for the correct size (diameters and length) and found the right one. And I am very satisfied with the fit. Like you said they fit well enough. They are tight but do stretch a little bit to the proper fit.

Made only a little bit of progress tonight because I had to fix the A/C this afternoon, that was top priority for the wife.
I fixed the busted oil screen and finished the oil change.
Took the carbs off and checked cam chain tensioner adjustment.
While the carbs were off, I checked the jet sizes. Not surprised, the pilot seems too big. (starting a separate thread on this)

I forgot to mention in this thread that the charging circuit was INOP once I got her running. A quick diagnostic process pointed at a malfunctioning regulator in the joint regulator/rectifier assembly. Ordered a new one, replaced it, bike is charging now. And while I was at it, I made an upgrade to the FE coil to fully float it to be able to use any regulator I needed. More information in this thread.

Got her inspected on Friday so now I gotta go to the DMV (where I broke their computer system last time, LOL) and need to get an actual Texas plate for her.
Then I will be allowed to ride her on the road. Woo!