Short, irregular bursts of power and lagging.

SolidGhost

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I just got this bike (77xs) and had it gone over. New exhaust (headers and mufflers). Mechanic road tested it, I rode it home from the shop (20min or so highway) then I rode it to work and back 40-60 min depending on whether highway or back roads) two days. I did leave the choke on and fouled the plugs (champion n7yc). Replaced them with NGK bpr7eix (iridium). A little on the way to work and for far too much of the return trip I felt irregular bursts like my bike was being pulled forward then losing power. I’d hoped it was just misfiring because of the plugs but no. Replaced them with the non-iridium equivalent and the problem persists.

I’m new to anything other than 60s Triumph and while I suspect this problem could be pretty universal, and dare I say obvious, I wondered if you guys had a first place to look. Thanks, all.
IMG_7547.jpeg

If same on both sides
I would start check the fuse holder
Then measure Voltage across battery. Off and On Revving se what it charges
Is it a stock Points bike ?
New fuse holder as the old glass tube holder was upgraded to blade type when it was discovered to be the source of a short. New AGM battery but will test too. It is stock points. Thanks for giving me a place to start.

The fuse block and low battery voltage would both be likely culprits. The use block often overlooked as it may look alright. Give everything a gentle tug. Switch tank to reserve?
Thanks, I will look there as well. I’m not sure my peacocks are set up right. I ran out of gas (fortunately a block from home) switched it to reserve, and there was nothing there.

It sounds like your problem may be a fuel issue. Might not be the carbs. Start at the beginning. Fuel delivery to them. Unhook the the petcocks and run lines to a gallon container. See if it will fill it with a steady flow. There's filters in the petcocks and on the stand pipes. Also a vent filter in the gas cap.