Stripped Threads for Carb Choke Lever (Starter Lever)

YL82

Perpetual Restorationist
Reaction score
Just about had my BS38 CV Carbs re-assembled and BAM! wouldn't you know it, I stripped out the little hole where the Carb Choke Lever (i.e., Starter Lever) fastens to the carb body. :banghead:

After I initially stripped out the female threads (which aren't that far up into hole due to short screw), I went with a SST M4 x .70 Pitch x 13 mm socket head screw I had left over from my float bowl screws. This likely finished off what was left of the female threads further up into the cavity.

I've never done a helicoil thing before. Is this the way to go? If so, what do I need and where do I get it and how do I do it?

NEED HELP!

Thanks!

Attachments

• Picture1.jpg
    Picture1.jpg
    111 KB · Views: 187
First locate a kit with the thread size you need to replace.
Most "kits" come the drill bit needed and a tap.
But it is through tap and you will need a bottom or blind tap since it has a bottom.
Ebay, Amazon, auto parts stores all should have helicoil kits.

Thanks, weekendrider.

I'll probably also check out any youtube videos that might be out there on how to do this (for any application).

A m4 X .7 is available.
OP if you aren't wanting to do this contact Oldskool carbs. Info in the shops section.
He will do you right.

I found HeliCoil Kits available from O'Reilly Auto Parts and from Ebay and went with the one below from Ebay for about $57 in a "Fine" Kit. Fastenal ordered me one, but I'm not sure of brand or whether I'll even pick it up.

HEC-5546-4 Heli-Coil Metric Thread Repair Kit-Fine, Metric M4 x .7 x 6.0mm

The one from O'Reilly Auto Parts was a "Course". So for the same part# (5546-4), does one have to select from Fine, Medium or Course?

At any rate, I went with the Fine one.