Gonna get down and dirty with my bike!

Bstryker

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys!
New to the forum and I just got my 1980 XS650 a couple of days ago and she's a beaut. (pictures soon)
It's my first bike and I was trying to kick-start it and dropped the dang thing... I know... Newbie mistake...
Well, the clutch perch broke off and I'm gonna order a new perch and from mikesxs.

The previous owner said that there is a head gasket leak, so I'm wondering which gasket set do I buy? (I figured since I'm buying a perch, might as well buy some stuff I need to fix up the bike.)
I'm gonna take the engine apart and replace some gaskets, so since I'm already gonna be in there, is there anything I should look out for and/or replace/upgrade while I'm in there?
I'm new to working on bikes so any beginner tips are appreciated and I'm super excited to get my hands dirty for the first time :laugh2:
Also if there is anything I should be wary of while working on the engine, it'd be nice to know that too :)
Thanks for everything guys!

Before you go tearing the engine apart, a simple head retorque may be all that’s needed. There’s a how to in the tech section. Drain the oil and check the filters, they’ll tell you a lot without having to pull the engine apart. A compression test is a good move as well, also covered in the tech section.
As for the clutch perch, theres many that fit universally so you don’t have to get one targeted for the xs. Though your welcome to. Some of Mikes products are sub par, there’s a thread covering some of them as well.

Hi Bstryker and welcome,
coulda been worse, if the bike had dropped to the right and broke the front brake perch you'd be researching the joys of brake bleeding.
How bad is the oil leak and are you simply taking the PO's word on it being the head gasket that's leaking?
There's all manner of other sources for top end oil leaks, not just the head gasket and ONLY the head gasket needs the engine to be pulled to replace it.