Maximum sustained safe cruising RPM?

79xs

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the XS650, but have a bunch of experience with antique bikes. I recently got a 1979 XS650, which is my 'new' daily driver. Its mostly stock, and only has 2,900 original miles, and I am the second owner.

When going down the highway around 70 mph, the bike is cruising at about 5,100 RPM. I think the bike has stock gearing (based on counting teeth and the previous owner telling me so).

I'm pretty young, so I dont mind the vibrations, I just dont want to hurt my motor. This seems like a lot of revs for a 30 year old bike. This would destroy one of my old Harleys or BMW R75 in no time flat...

I ride with my girlfriend on the back pretty often, so I do not want to gear it down more than 1 or 2 teeth on the rear sprocket... in fear of the bike being too slow around town with her on the back.

Is it safe to run these motors at 5,000 RPM for 30 minutes or more when going down the highway??

Your old Harley had a redline of 5000 rpms, big twin anyway. I don't know about the Beemer. The redline on the XS650 is 7500. So 5000 rpms is well with in the redline. I'm not sure just what the rpms were but I spent 5+ hours at 80-85 mph with no problems. I think the bike handled it better than I did.
Riding two up the stock set up should be fine. You might try a 32 rear. This will drop the rpms about 200 at 60 maybe a bit more at 70.
The 32 will take a bit more clutch to get moving but once up to 5 or 10 mph it will be fine.
Leo

I just installed new sprockets (stock 17 front and 32 rear) and new chain. The 32 rear did take away some acceleration off the line and cruising, but it's no slug. Like XSLeo says once your going your OK. I weigh in at 250-260lb so I'm no lightweight.