new ownership woes

strang

XS650 Addict
Reaction score

Went to see this bike, loved it, bought it, rode it home.
When I bought it, the electric start was not really working but it kick started 1st time (well 1st time I did it properly!). Now today I go to start it back at my place and I just can't get it kick started.
So I try to bump start it - no good. Next thing happens is the ignition light won't come on any more. So I take the battery down to the local garage to get it tested - reads 12.4 so all good I think.
So where do I go from here learned people?
I've been tuning up my bikes/vehicles for a while but I'm a complete novice when it comes to wiring so some idea of where to start would be much appreciated otherwise I see myself using every sunday till christmas looking at diagrams and chasing wires i'm not entirely sure of their usage.

There is no igntion light. Maybe you mean neutral light? Does the tail light come on?

Have you checked for blown fuses?

Find out if you have spark. If not, then find out why. Probably not one possibility more likely than the rest. If no spark, start by seeing if there's 12v on the coil.

There will be lots of work cleaning and repairing connections, on any of them.

Also, when you bought it, it might have been started earlier in the day. That would make it easier to start. Especially since you have little experience kickstarting. Put your whole weight on it and kick the sheeit out of it. And don't overlook the obvious - make sure it has plenty of gas.

Sorry i meant neutral light.
thanks for reply - you inspired me to go out fresh just now and have another look.
I checked the fuses again (I did check them earlier as well) and it has a blown main fuse.
I think what happened is I might have flooded it by using too much choke (it's warm here and probably didn't need to be taken out the full 2 notchesl) then I've taken the battery out to be tested and in the process blown the 20a main fuse.