New to this, bike cut off and now wont start.

MFJustin

Welcome to Thunderdome
Reaction score
Ahhhh where to begin. Gentlemen I come to you as a complete noob to the XS650 world. I'm a transplant from the 4x4/off-road/Jeep community. Many months ago while making my usual forum rounds, I saw a thread on Pirate 4x4 created by none other than Punkskalar detailing a bike he was building and ever since then I have been hooked on owning a Yamaha. After a year of searching I finally found the right one, a '79 that had the majority of the work already completed by the current owner at the time. Unfortunately I'm a huge do-it-yourselfer and wanted to build one of my own but I couldnt pass it up for the price.

Bobber.jpg

Fast forward to the present, I've ridden the bike for the past 3 months that I've owned it and thus far it had been problem free for the most part. Until now....

Here's a quick synopsis of my current debacle, and bear with me and my noobiness....I know how forums work and I've read read read as much tech as I could and searched my butt off so please no "search noob" responses. Several weeks ago I took the bike on a multi hour trip away from home. Usually I would just ride around town and plug it into a battery maintainer at night just because. While out on this extended trip my bike started bogging down in the middle of the highway and eventually just died as I coasted to the shoulder. Went to turn it back on and there was absolutely no juice in the battery so I figured it was a bad charging system. Got it towed home and a new battery later I was on my way again vowing to ride it until winter when I could fix the charging system.

Unfortunately I didnt make it that far....