Newbie needing help with wiring

JLov

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Whats up guys!

I just bought my very first motorcycle and XS650 and in the process of building it.
With this being my first bike everything is new to me

i recently just purchased a bates style headlight and some turn signals for front and back and also a bates style taillight, I'm needing help on how to wire these together using the stock wiring harness? i have never done any wiring before this will be the first

appreciate the help,
Josh

Congrats on your purchase and welcome to world of motorcycles... And specifically the XS650!

As to wiring your new "stuff"...it would help to know what you're bike has on there now? If it's stock, there should be two wires to each turn signal (brown & black/ green & black if I recall correctly... Your turn signals should also have two wires, and you just swap them out on each side (and front/back). On the back they will be bundled on the rear where all the wires head back to the tail light (should be easy to find). On the front, the connections are in the headlight bucket.

For your brake light, if it had three wires, one will be running light, one brake light, and one ground. Again, just swap them from what's currently on there. If it only has two wires, then chances are they are both "hot" (one is running light, one is brakes) and the base of the headlight needs a ground wire added.

It's not too complicated, but you may also need a different flasher to have your turn signals work.

Whats up guys!

I just bought my very first motorcycle and XS650 and in the process of building it.
With this being my first bike everything is new to me

i recently just purchased a bates style headlight and some turn signals for front and back and also a bates style taillight, I'm needing help on how to wire these together using the stock wiring harness? i have never done any wiring before this will be the first

appreciate the help,
Josh

Oh Josh,