stupid clutch trick

Q Tip

mad bomber
Reaction score
Argh I am having a bit of a problem...when i have the bike on the centerstand in neutral,
the clutch seems to be dragging enough to choke off the bike?

Bike revs high with the clutch all the way in and as I ease out the clutch the revs drop until the clutch is all the way released and the bike dies?

I could see this if the bike was on the ground in gear but it is on the stand in neutral?

I adjusted the clutch per my manual....looks like I'll have to check that one.
:confused:

Hey that might be it...I removed the clutch assy when I installed the starter gear. I guess i'll have to go back through it AGAIN. Lol thank you.

I'm not too good with clutches and all...but I am having a hard time understanding how releasing the clutch in NEUTRAL can choke off the bike? Weird.

The good news is I have her cranking and running on the starter button.

Q Tip;

When you had the clutch apart, did you index it correctly on re-assembly?

Attachments

• ClutchIndexSet.jpg
    ClutchIndexSet.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 63
yes i did i tried to read up quite a bit on the install. I used the hex socket bolts on the springs. I actually took it apart twice to correct it as i did not index it as you show in your pics the first time. Oh well its not too difficult to go through, just time consuming.

Can you start it in neutral without pulling the clutch in?
Why is it high reving? Do you have the idle screw turned in?

when i adjusted mine on the left case thing i had to tighten it all the way or it would jerk forward and kill the bike once i put it in first. dunno...

Can you start it in neutral without pulling the clutch in?
Why is it high reving? Do you have the idle screw turned in?

Haven't tried to start on the electric start unless I have the clutch pulled in. As things are now I doubt it will start but we'll see.

Yes the idle screws are turned in as I have been trying to get the bike to hold an idle...bike's not tuned at all yet.