Front brake sticking

Borsom

XS650 Member
Reaction score
My front brakes on my 78 650 seem to be sticking, I took the caliper off and depressed the piston which worked for about a week now the front tire has almost completely locked up again. I am new to bikes does anyone have a suggestion for a an easy fix or is a rebuild or new master cylinder in order
Thanks

My front brakes on my 78 650 seem to be sticking, I took the caliper off and depressed the piston which worked for about a week now the front tire has almost completely locked up again. I am new to bikes does anyone have a suggestion for a an easy fix or is a rebuild or new master cylinder in order
Thanks

There is no "easy" fix when restoring motorcycles that have sat around for over 30 years. Take the caliper/piston apart and clean the parts until they are surgically clean. Pay special attention to the grooves where the rubber sealing rings sit. Buy new rubber sealing rings, as they make the piston retract. The slider bolts must be free and lubricated as well. Replace with new brake fluid.

There are 2 small holes in the bottom of the M/C reservoir. Make sure they are both clear of dirt/debris.

Did I mention, parts must be surgically clean.

I took apart the caliper and cleaned the piston and the bore to a mirror finish and works great now but not sure what a slider bolt is

I took apart the caliper and cleaned the piston and the bore to a mirror finish and works great now but not sure what a slider bolt is

The bolts (or slide pins) that the moving half of the caliper rides on when pushed/pulled by the piston; they need to be clean and greased.

The bolts (or slide pins) that the moving half of the caliper rides on when pushed/pulled by the piston; they need to be clean and greased.