Need Help. Rear drum brake pivot threaded or clean through?

crazyorigin

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I am new to xs650's and road bikes in general and recently acquired a basket case xs650 that is missing some parts. One was the rear brake pivot/adjuster/I am not sure what its called. I made some with a spike tip on the outside and need to know if this part is tapped for threads or drilled clean through? I have seen it both ways on mini bikes and other off road type vehicles from when I was a kid. Here is a pic of what I made to help you better understand, it is what the threaded rod goes through on the rear drum brakes actuation lever. Thank you for any help.

IMG_20131220_242344_813.jpg

No, it's not threaded, just a clean hole through it like you have. The adjustment is done on the threaded rod that passes through it.

It's clean through with a shoulder and a split pin to retain it

no what you are talking about is at the front that uses a clevis pin, he's asking about the rear the extended barrel of the adjustment nut keeps the anchor block centered in the brake pivot arm lever

Attachments

• STAND_-_FOOTREST_-_BRAKE_PEDAL_TX650AXS650B.png
    STAND_-_FOOTREST_-_BRAKE_PEDAL_TX650AXS650B.png
    27.4 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:
Thank you very much for the reply. It will be much easier to just drill these out larger than it will be to tap them. I may try to tap a few to see if it would allow me to get rid of the rear adjuster nut and clean up the rear end a bit.

That would make adjustment of the rear brake very difficult and a long, drawn out affair. Why re-invent the wheel? You need a quick and easy adjustment method because often adjusting the chain requires a tweak to the brake adjustment.

If you've got to customize back there, make a fancy adjuster nut that replaces the original to go with what you've already made. Make it pointy somewhere... Would be cool if you could turn it by hand, wing nut style.