newbie intro

62pyro

Reaction score
I just thought I'd tell you guys a little about myself.I'm a 47 year old single father.I work as a machinist and have always wanted a custom bike.Due to having a child and former bad habits,it's always been out of my budget.A couple of years ago I was looking through "The Horse" and saw an XS650 bobber.It really caught my eye.Now that I've eliminated (eliminating) the bad habits,I decided it was time to start thinking more about a bike.Picked up an "81 special a couple of weeks ago to ride during the summer and plan to bob it over the winter.Right now I just need to get a couple of things worked out so it's roadworrthy for the summer.Any tips or advice on these is welcome.

Pat

Welcome to the XS650 world. These are real fun bikes..................easy to repair and a hoot to ride. If your bike still has the original type fuse panel with glass fuses, you need to remove it and replace with automotive blade type fuses. The original panels are worn out and will cause many problems.
Here's a link:
http://www.650central.com/tech/tips.htm

Welcome to the XS650 world. These are real fun bikes..................easy to repair and a hoot to ride. If your bike still has the original type fuse panel with glass fuses, you need to remove it and replace with automotive blade type fuses. The original panels are worn out and will cause many problems.
Here's a link:
http://www.650central.com/tech/tips.htm

Thanks.I'll look into it once I figure out the charging problem.My lack of experience working on bikes is really showing right now.:banghead:

Welcome Pat! What are your plans for the build?

Plans are to ride it this summer and hardtail over the winter.

When you get a new to you XS650 check the alternator brushes. easy to do and likely to be worn out. Figure on rechecking them about every 5 to 8,000 miles.