welding 101...

nkymain485

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
i inherited a welder from my grandpa, and have a few questions from the knowledgable welders... im just starting out and was curious if there is a problem with welding in a basement... i know there is a gas that comes off, is this harmful? or is it not enough to really make a difference... i dont have a garage...and the basement is unfinished, no carpet or anything.... also its a stick welder (i think) ill take a pic here soon and post it if everyone thinks its ok to practice in the basement

well, assuming it is a stick welder, it will throw alot of sparks. i wouldnt do it, and i am a degreed welder, certfied dualcore.
i'm also guessing you would like to not burn your house down? rental or not, your stuff is up there. please dont do it.
if it is a rental, the landlord will sue you if you burn it down.
if you own it, your homeowner's insurance prolly has fineprint against such activities.
but if you must, get a few big fire extinguishers, E7011 rods, and when your done, stay down ther for 30min to 1hour for firewatch.
if it looks like a tombstone, its a stickwelder, should have a big switch, and a big knob, sometimes a slide.

Yes, you can use a stick welder to weld a frame, if you know EXACTLY what you're doing. Unfortunately, this doesn't apply to you. (or me for that matter) And please, just like Angus says, do not weld in your basement. Just way too risky. As well as smoky and smelly. Stick welding is fine outside anyway.

ok i wont then...it is a stick welder... and i do own the home, i'd rather it not burn down... thanks for the help advice!

Drive around your neighborhood and gather a bunch of scrap metal.