Clutch pushrod seal for newbies?

Dumbmonkey

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi y'all,
I was just looking for an opinion. I'm pretty sure I need to replace the clutch pushrod seal on my 81 xs650. As a total newbie to riding and working on bikes, how far in over my head could I be? What should I also be considering along with the seal and the bushing? I'd really like to solve this oil leak issue.
Thanks in advance for any advice!

The only right way is to split the cases. It can be done from the outside, but it is a bitch to get right. Order several seals, as you will eat up a few.

Agreed. I don't mean to seem negative. I've done it both ways. The problem is the seal is manufactured with a slight ridge in the middle of the outside sealing area. It is this way, as an added seal to fit in the groove of the seal cavity in the case. This is peeled off once you start pressing in the seal, tearing up the rest of the sealing rubber on the outside of the seal, and creates another point to leak. I use lock tite aluminum flange sealer around the out side to help this area seal better. Even then, I'm usually doing it twice, maybe three times getting a good seal.

There's a lot of threads here on that procedure. If you scroll down to the 'similar threads' box here, you'll find other threads covering this, and they'll have 'similar threads' too. Worm your way down thru all these, you'll get a better idea, and more tips/tricks. Also, look-up the bushing replacement procedure on MikesXS's website.

As mentioned get a few extras when you do it. I changed mine without tearin it apart about 4k miles ago with no issues. I just chamfered the hole and put the seal in (ruined one seal in the process).

well I am a bit mystified as to why mikesxs recommends drilling the clutch pushrod bush out ?

If the original bush is anything like mine it has a split in it .