My first XS650

Rexxis

Almost there...
Reaction score
This is my first build ever.

I bought my bike from forum member Patches, he's out of Kansas and is a nice guy to deal with. I picked up a roller from him after he picked up like 11 bikes at once, heres the thread: http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8637

I gave $750 for a roller w a set of carbs and a title.

Mybike2.jpg

Currently it looks like this
-C6A3-4589-AEFF-C7550192645F-2098-000003546A383CEC.jpg

I'll try to keep this pic current.:thumbsup:

Last edited:
Looks like your off to a great start. Make it yours. We'll help where we can. Take lot's of pics, please.

I just got my Elswick tail in a few days ago and finished my engine jig and engine stand up today.
mybike13.jpg

mybike17.jpg

mybike18.jpg

mybike20.jpg

Looks like I'm almost ready to hardtail the thing..

Lotsa engine parts sittin' here on my desk waiting on me, top end fastener kit, case cover screw kits for both sides, cam chain tensioner, sump filter, carb rebuild kits, starter delete kit, pamco ultimate + advance kit, seals and gaskets, and a bunch of other little stuff.

I started cleaning up my carbs to find that someone had used liquid gasket on the float bowls and overdid it bigtime, most of it seeped to the inside not the outside when they put the bowls back on and they decided to use a homemade cardboard gasket as well.. but only on one side.. wtf. Nasty gummed up fuel in every nook and cranny, they are looking pretty good now though. Im nervous to really tear these things down all the way but I have the rebuild kits w all the new jets and needles and stuff, I'm just worried abt gettin them back in tune, I'm gonna do it though, it will likely be a learn as I go experince w help from http://www.amckayltd.com/carbguide.pdf and my Haynes manual.