New to xs650

Xthread

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’m new to the forum. I live in Saskatoon Saskatchewan Canada. The same place Fredinstoon lives. I was given some parts for a xs 650, engine, frame, forks, wheels c/w discs and sprocket.I'm planning on building a hardtail. I have no experience with this but willing to learn. The engine won’t turn over with the kick arm, It was suggested that the rings may be rusted to the cylinders. Any suggestions as to what to look for as I’m going to pull the engine apart. Thanks for reading.
Regards Xthread

....but willing to learn.
That's half the battle right there. If you're willing, you can do it. A suggestion... squirt copious amounts of your favorite penetrating oil down the plug holes and let the engine sit for a day or two. Then try turnin' the motor.
You'll find that a lot of us here are illiterate... we can't read.... we like pictures hint hint:)
Welcome to the site!!

Last edited:
Welcome Xthread. While you're at it, wouldn't hurt to pull the valve covers off and squirt some PB Blaster or penetrant of your choice on the valve stems between the springs.

Good luck, fingers crossed!

Welcome.
There are lots of engine pull-apart threads here, and check out the Tech section.
I suggest that you pull the oil screens, one in the right case (very easy) and one at the bottom, and analyse the residue. In fact, you could pull these screens and take pictures before cleaning them and post them here, and you'll get lots of eager opinions as to what might be ahead when you fully dismantle, if necessary.
Hope it goes well.

Hi XThread - one small suggestion would be to get the bike running BEFORE you cut the back end off it.

It is of course, your bike - but, XS650s in stock form (especially in Canada) are become a little bit more rare each day and yet, they make extremely nice bikes to ride around on -in stock form.