Top engine mount removal

dblwlf

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Can anyone here who has removed their top engine mount or doesnt utilize it please convey their thoughts on how their bikes handle without it? Considering removing mine for my build but would like to know how bikes without them handle before committing to it. Thanks

Have not run without one but have heard at least several comments about a LOT more vibration on bikes run that way. The XS650 frame is not all that stiff anyways, removing that "steering head locator" won't make it better.

On the other hand; that top mount may be the ugliest piece of "engineering" on the XS650 seems like a great place for some home brew fabricating of a more elegant replacement. there have been a few sharp looking top mounts built.

id keep it from what i here its a back and forth argument, some people keep it off to re torque the head after a rebuild but idk if most leave it off. seems like a bad idea but im a noob.

Yea I just don't know. I am running rephase and 5th gear od, but I don't know if those mods will bring the vibration down enough. I may try and work out my own mount. Not real sure yet.

Find a good twisty section of road with not just curves but changes in elevation. Then ride your bike as hard as you can through this section of road. Once with the top engine mount and once with out the mount.
This should answer your question.
This test with and without the front fender will tell you if you need the extra bracing a fender provides. If you decide the fender helps but you don't want a fender you can add a fork brace.
Leo

Last edited:
Besides the handling problems already mentioned, you will be putting additional stress on the remaining mounts. In time, they may start breaking.

XS1 was Yamaha's 1st 4 stroke attempt, so they *might* have over-engineered it a little, for a good cause though, as it turned out to be a big success.