Bending Question

atomic22

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I'm looking to get some tubing bent like in the picture below:

1712334942852.png

I contacted a guy in the area, who happened to be on the 650 garage board, and he quoted me $90.

I'm new to fabricating and don't have the tools or skills to do what I want...yet, so I'm wondering if this is a fair price? :shrug:

The price is just for the bend, not the welding or anything else.

I've tried several places in the area and he's the only one so far who can do that kind of bend.

Thanks guys for any advice

Oxy/Acetylene torch and play sand

Fill the tube with sand heat till red and bend around a radius to match what you want.

The sand will keep the tube from collapsing, let it air cool...do not quench in water.

If you dont own a torch, and he is the only guy nearby that can do it....then it is what it is.

If he's the only guy who can do it, and has the equipment, I guess he dictates price. Like adams77 says, it is what it is.

Are you talking about the swingarm where the shock mounts too? What size tube?

Yes I am talking about the upper part of the swingarm where the shock mounts.
I was thinking 1.25 for tube size?? But I don't know much about tube sizing...still just learning.
GordonScott, is this something you could bend or make?

I've attached the same picture with a circle around the area I'm talking about.

Attachments

• swingarmbendHighlighted.JPG
    swingarmbendHighlighted.JPG
    111.3 KB · Views: 171
Yes I am talking about the upper part of the swingarm where the shock mounts.
I was thinking 1.25 for tube size?? But I don't know much about tube sizing...still just learning.
GordonScott, is this something you could bend or make?

I've attached the same picture with a circle around the area I'm talking about.