XS cafe racer, what tank to have?

CafeXS

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello all

I have used the site recently for much needed information and I thought it was about time I joined for some valuable help. I'm currently re-building a 79 xs650 in the cafe racer style. I have built two cafe's before a few years back using a 78 RD125 and a 76 RD200DX, so I have a small amount of experience in the area although I'm new to working on 4 strokes. I have procured an RD400 tank that I thought may look good on the frame for the overall look that I'm trying to achieve but I have my doubts as to if it'll look a bit weedy when the engine is in?. I've only just started the 'mock up' runs and I can't get my head around it. I have an eltro-plater ready to chrome the tank so I don't want to make a big mistake. Any ideas are welcome. Thanks!!

I'm kind of partial to this tank on my GS450. It kind of resembles a Norton Manx. Always thought it would make a nice custom cafe tank.

Attachments

• rsz_bikes_027.jpg
    rsz_bikes_027.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 805
Im runing a plain old CB350 tank, from a 73, 74 MY. They have nice knee indentations, and still have almost 4 gallon capacity, while looking the part. There wider and a bit lower than a stock xs tank. A bit shorter too.
XScafefull.jpg

Thanks, both look the part although the GS tank has a great british look about it. I may have to do a little digging around for the GS! I'll post a couple of pics with the RD400 tank on the XS frame see what you think. Thanks again.

Ah, just found this pic on 650rider.com, the tank looks great on the XS. Cheers Tech7.

Attachments

• GilesBelaud8.jpg
    GilesBelaud8.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 1,169
Not too keen on the XS750, but the Benelli tanks are superb, problem is finding one in the UK on my budget.

I like the aluminum wassel tanks you use to see on Triumphs and BSA's back in the day.The one used on trials bikes not the peanut.