new guy wants to start it up

roadstar06

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hi guys, so I just picked up a motor yesterday and dont know if it will run or not??? what do I need to start this on my work bench? I figured I'd ask if this is possible before I tear it apart for no reason..Guy I got it from bought it off a guy as a spare and he dont know anything about it except that the guy told him he did the valves.what should I be looking for? This is my first build so I need as much info as you feel like typing..Thanks

What year is the engine? You just need carbs, pipes, either points or Tci box and battery.

ok, I got carbs,I can rig a fuel cell, no pipes to b had yet..and I need to get a kickstart lever. motor is a 78-79?? not sure yet I need to look up vin on motor it's a F series

Then you have a starter. Jump with a car battery out of the car, and do a compression check. If over 120, and or within 10 points betwwen the two cylinders, it should run. Then search on this forum for simplified wireing diagram. And bolt that 160 lbs motor down.

There are two points covers directly above each spark plug. Remove those covers and see what's in there. If it's an 80 or up there will be nothing. 79 and below there will be points. Do a search on here on how to set points and wire them up.

cool thanks guys, gonna get at it tomorrow! yes it has points. which other wire do I need to put on battery for starter? I know ground, but theres like 6 other wires in a harness and i think 2 more toward front of motor???

If I'm understanding your referring to the wires coming from the stator (alternator). You won't need those to run it for now.

Never really told us what you have...........Do you have a frame?...........do you have a wiring loom or part of...............The more info you give out, (without having to squeeze for blood), the better our answers can be.............Saves a lot of time and pointless answers or links.