LA_Rider

Tinkerer
Reaction score
Newbie here...I am very happy to have found this excellent XS650 website. I just learned that I could have repaired the speedo & tach dials on my XS650E and would have saved a hundred eBay bucks for a used cluster. I bought a instrument cluster, the vendor ID'd as a 650 cluster, but its not, its actually a cluster for a XS500, the center tower doesn't have the white translucent plastic 'headlight' indicator.

I decided to make a wiring diagram of the cluster, and discovered a white and black wire pair exiting the speedometer. I meausred the pair and found them to 0.5 Ohms, essentially shorted? Two wire pairs exiting out of the bottom of the speedomter, two for the dial face illumination, but what is the other pair for? And its a short? So I vectored over here to the XS650.com forum and looked and THEN learned I could have fixed my bad gauges on my 650E. Turns out that those two wires are connected to a reed-switch that has something to do with the turn-signal auto-reset?? Mine never worked, so I never saw the function. When I realized what its for, it occured to me that I could implement a LM555 timer version fabricated on a small perfboard. Its just a thought. Of course the actual solution is to replace the reed switch. Apparently the Japanese versions of the magnetically switched normally closed switch aren't mercury wetted, as apparently the cool feature in practice is often intermittent, and in my case, never did work. DigiKey and Mouser both carry those switches.