XSB-1 Timing Retard

ThomasADixon

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Dear Forum,

I am about to retard the timing on my bike (to reduce start-up kickback). I have never done timing before and think I can do it anyway. I have ordered JIS bits to remove the cover plates. I am awaiting them before I can even get started. The phillips-like screws on this bike are very tight and to this point are perfect and have never been "bunged" or scarred up. So I am not taking any chances with the appearance of this bike. And i hate to be the one who effed it up.

My current advice (as I understand it) from Jim, Boog and gggGary have been to retard the timing a few degrees to reduce any kickback. I think that that is excellent advice and am proceeding in that way.

I have also read that using the choke for starting can cause a mixture that may lead to "kickback". In Florida I doubt if I even need to use the choke - I have just been following the advice of the previous owner (a two-hundred an forty pounder). It causes me to wonder if I should also enhance the E0 gasoline I was cautioned to use exclusively? Would a 93 octane E10 be better noting that the addition of ethanol into the system is a bargain with the devil to get higher Octane. In fact, is Octane even part of the issue? If so are there other ways to enhance E0 without introducing Ethanol?

Pardon me if I use phrases incorrectly or do not understand. I am just ignorant and trying. I don't care if I appear stupid - I'm too old for that. Please consider me stupid in any correspondence.

Its good because I am building up my leg muscles and resting my knee soft tissue in the mean-time in anticipation of success. This will be my solution and if it does not work and make the kick-starting easier I'll have to get rid of this beauty and go to an electric start bike. But I know Ill never find as nice a bike as this. Besides; chicks think it cool when you have to kick-start a bike.